Innovation awards results 2017

The awards commemorate our colleague Sally, the former Head of Knowledge Management and E-learning at NHS South West, who died in 2010. Sally led
on many innovative national developments and was a great supporter of developing library services to their fullest potential.

What we looked for in the 2017 Sally Hernando Innovation Awards

Innovation can be regarded as a “novel” way of providing a service or a completely new product which has not been seen before in NHS library/knowledge services. While the adoption of ideas from elsewhere in NHS and Healthcare LKS is admirable and to be encouraged, for the purposes of these innovation awards we are interested in new ideas rather than local adoption of best practice from elsewhere within NHS KLS.

We were especially interested in innovations which:

  • Have been implemented and evaluated in terms of success and impact
  • Are easily replicated or adapted for use in other Library and Knowledge Services
  • Offer “quick wins” in terms of investment of time, finances and other resources
  • Have a broad appeal and address a widespread need or requirement 

The applications process

  1. Service managers and KLS staff are asked to identify examples of innovation within their service.
  2. An innovation template is available on the Knowledge for Healthcare Blog.  This is submitted electronically.
  3. A small panel assesses all entries to determine if they constitute innovations according to the criteria set down in the guidance provided on the blog.
  4. A panel of judges made up of KLS staff from across the NHS in England assess all entries except the ones from their own region.
  5. The judges select their top five entries and submit these with comments via a survey tool.
  6. A member of the HEE KLSL teams collates the responses to identify the top ten. 
  7. The top ten are sent to an external assessor (Maria J Grant in 2017) to select a top three to receive the innovation award prizes

The top three winners in 2017 receive a funded place at Health Libraries Group (or equivalent) conference to promote their innovations

Top 3 award winners 2017

  1. Multi-disciplinary clinical innovations database @RBHT. Submitted by Samantha Unamboowe, Library Manager, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust.
  2. The online research @ Derby archive (ORDA). Submitted by Beth Rawson, Deputy Knowledge and Library Service Manager, Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. 
  3. 30 day research support challenge. Submitted by Angela Young, Information Skills Trainer, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust.

Top 10 runner-up entries 2017

Additional entries assessed as innovations in 2017

(listed in alphabetical order by organisation name)