Innovation awards results 2018

The awards commemorate our colleague Sally, the former Head of Knowledge Management and E-learning at NHS South West, who died in 2010. Sally led
on many innovative national developments and was a great supporter of developing library services to their fullest potential.

What we looked for in the 2018 Sally Hernando Innovation Awards

Innovation can be regarded as a “novel” way of providing a service or a completely new product which has not been seen before in NHS library/knowledge services. While the adoption of ideas from elsewhere in NHS and Healthcare KLS is admirable and to be encouraged, for the purposes of these innovation awards we are interested in new ideas rather than local adoption of best practice from elsewhere within NHS KLS

We were especially interested in innovations which:

  • Have been implemented and evaluated in terms of success and impact.
  • Are easily replicated or adapted for use in other Library and Knowledge Services.
  • Offer “quick wins” in terms of investment of time, finances and other resources.
  • Have a broad appeal and address a widespread need or requirement.
  • Have a champion or witness statement or declaration from a colleague within the Trust who has benefitted from the innovation.

The applications process  

  1. Service managers and KLS staff are asked to identify examples of innovation within their service.
  2. An innovation template is available on the Knowledge for Healthcare Blog. This is submitted electronically. 
  3. A small panel assesses all entries to determine if they constitute innovations according to the criteria set down in the guidance provided on the blog. 
  4. A panel of judges made up of KLS staff from across the NHS in England assess all entries except the ones from their own region. 
  5. The judges select their top five entries and submit these with comments via a survey tool.
  6. A member of the HEE KLSL teams collates the responses to identify the top ten.
  7. The top ten are sent to an external assessor (Maria J Grant in 2018) to select a top three to receive the innovation award prizes.

The top three winners in 2018 receive a funded place at Health Libraries Group (or equivalent) conference to promote their innovations

Top 3 award winners 2018

  1. Lean process live update: real-time librarian support for evidence-based practice in radiotherapy clinical protocols. Submitted by Carol-Ann Regan, Taunton and Somerset NHS Foundation Trust.
  2. Evidence Bites: Patient safety evidence summaries. Submitted by Victoria Treadway, Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.
  3. Understanding the person: insights into the patient experience. Submitted by Kaye Bagshaw, Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

Top ten runner-up entries 2018

Additional entries assessed as innovations in 2018